Even Superheroes Have Their Limits

When tofu first came on the scene as a popular health food, I was amazed by its versatility. You could put it into soups, stir fries and burgers. You were able to bread it, bake it, steam and sauté it. Tofu could be made into cake, pie, chocolate, pudding and dressing. There was nothing that tofu could not do. I remember my husband’s initial distrust of a food that could be turned into so many different edible items. Despite his wariness, we bought it, cooked with it and embraced it.

Chia seeds may not be the new tofu, but that little seed is just as versatile. You can add it to your morning cereal, yogurt or smoothie, make it part of any grain or salad and can include it in any baked recipe from meatloaf to muffins. Rich in omega-3 fatty acids and antioxidants, chia seeds are a high fiber, nutrient dense food. When soaked in water, chia seeds dissolve into a gel. Research suggests that this reaction also takes place in the stomach, keeping you feeling full for a longer period of time. They are an anti inflammatory superfood. The new superhero of the food world.

And like all superheroes, chia seeds have a weakness. Chia seeds, when dropped, scatter across the floor like cockroaches when the lights turn on. They are almost impossible to vacuum at one time. Much like glitter and sand, you will find them everywhere, days after the original spill. The other side to chia seeds that no one mentions is that the same gelatinous consistency that keeps you feeling full longer, does NOT translate into pudding. For all you chia seed loving pudding makers, please give me a good recipe to follow.

I just made this chocolate chia pudding following a recipe which calls for
2 tablespoons chia seeds
1/2 cup coconut milk
1 tablespoon cocoa
a pinch of salt
pinch of cinnamon
1 1/2 tablespoons maple syrup

I combined all the ingredients in a mason jar, shook to mix and refrigerated, waiting to taste the dark, rich, creamy pudding pictured in the photos. The reviews of the recipe described it as “delicious and yummy”. I took it out of the refrigerator and its dull, sponge like appearance did not call to me as did the images in the photos. I tasted it.

I need you to understand that I am the benchmark for all things tasteless, too healthy and, according to my family, just plain disgusting. I am a health food hedonist. Nothing is too plain or bland sounding, but there are no expectations low enough to make chia seed pudding good unless you enjoy the feeling of a cold cacao covered loogie slowly and suffocatingly oozing its way down your throat. In the lexicon of slang, a loogie is defined as a large slimy glob of spit, mixed with nose snot, that is formed by coughing up and hocking what’s in your throat (Urban Dictionary). And that is a pretty accurate description of my experience. After I finished gagging, I ate a piece of dark chocolate to get rid of the taste in my mouth.

So…even superheroes have their limitations. And while I won’t make chia pudding any longer, I still enjoy those little powerhouse seeds in my yogurt, pancakes and hot cereal. My favorite grain free meatloaf recipe includes chia seeds. Make it and let me know what you think.

Adina’s Grain Free Turkey Meatloaf
Ingredients:
Approximately 2 pounds of (antibiotic hormone free) ground turkey breast
1 cup almond meal
1/2 cup flaxseed meal
2 eggs (preferably organic)
Approximately 1/4 cup organic ketchup
Seasoning to taste (I’m partial to Paul Prudhomme’s poultry magic)
2 tablespoons chia seeds

Directions:
Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl using your hands and spread evenly in a non stick loaf pan. Bake for about an hour at 375 degrees.
Comfortably serves 6

Healthy eating,
Adina Kelman
Certified Holistic Nutrtionist

20140331-125621.jpg

20140331-125644.jpg

20140331-125700.jpg

20140331-125710.jpg

Leave a comment